Hemingway Memoir

6-Word Memoir Challenge!

This past week I have challenged my students to write a six-word memoir. A memoir is a story about your life at a particular moment. Ernest Hemingway is credited with the first memoir after some pals, while out for tea, bet Hemingway that he could not write a memoir in only 6 words. Grabbing a napkin, Hemingway penned the following memoir:

For Sale. Baby Shoes. Never Worn. 

Powerful words that tell us of pain, tragedy and loss.

The Challenge: My challenge to you, dear HFA Reader and Writer is to find a napkin  pen your six word memoir and then send me a picture of it by March 27, 2015.

The Requirements: Your words must tell a story. They may not be a collection of 6 separate words, but rather 6 words that together tell HFA Readers & Writers a story about you and your life. Write your memoir on any napkin you desire. The napkin can be plain, decorative, reflective of your memoir…whatever napkin you want.

Publishing:I will collect your 6-word memoirs and put together a post to display them on Historical Fiction Addicts for everyone’s enjoyment and commenting. Now is your chance to tell your story! Let see how many 6-word Memoirs we can collect!

Submission: Please email your memoir using the email address provided in the Author Interview/Guest Blog Post section at the top of the page. And if you like this challenge, let me know by both commenting and liking it in the section below. I love hearing from you and knowing what you like. Please feel free to repost this on your own blog.

Are you up for the challenge?chalkboard-620316_1280

Deadline: March 27, 2015

For inspiration or for examples please visit this Link.

Good Luck and Happy Writing!

 

SIX WORD MEMOIR CHALLENGE

One thought on “SIX WORD MEMOIR CHALLENGE

  1. I find this an interesting concept… but TBH it is late and I will forget all about it by morning… that’s just me. So I will type my ‘memoir’ here (and yes I’m aware it won’t be a legit entry 🙂 )

    “He broke me, now I’m free.”
    Or
    “The church floor; wet with tears.”

    (and if anyone is interested… I have a memoir for sale at amazon, visit my blog for details 🙂 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

