The Power of Writing

image

What do I write?

Four words that haunt me like a wraith,

terrorizing

my mind, making me flee

from myself only to find

I am staring

the apparition straight in its

blinking eye

on the white space

before me.

Blink.

Blink.

Blink.

It winks at me,

like a big sister who read

my diary

and plans on blackmailing me

for the rest of my life.

I sit quaking.

I swallow

the thick lump of fear

and rest

my fingers on the keys.

It winks again.

I see

the threatening look in its eye.

But I must

be free

of its power

and so I

begin to

tap

tap

tap

out the words

hidden

in my soul.

The blinking

moves,

blurs,

and disappears

with the nail

I hammer into its

coffin

period.

2 thoughts on “The Power of Writing

Leave a Reply

